Arts & CultureTravel

Hajj Guide: Farewell Tawaf

Hajj is one of the five pillars of Islam. It is obligatory for all able-bodied Muslims who can afford it, at least once in their lifetime.

Hajj is a spiritual experience for Muslims, which involves undertaking a set of rituals performed by Prophet Mohammed PBUH centuries ago. It takes place during the first ten days of Dhu’al-Hijjah, the final month of the Islamic calendar.

Hajj lasts four to six days depending on the pilgrim’s speed. This year, Saudi Arabia announced that the first day of Eid Al Adha corresponds to June 16, 2024. This means that Hajj rituals will start on June 14.

In this regard, Leaders MENA Magazine offers a detailed guide to Hajj rituals day by day. The last ritual of Hajj is the Farewell Tawaf.

Hajj Guide: Farwell Tawaf
Farwell Tawaf

Step 11: Farewell Tawaf

Farewell Tawaf (Tawaf Al-Wadaa) is the last rite of Hajj. Pilgrims must perform it right before leaving Makkah. In Tawaf Al-Wadaa, pilgrims circumambulate the Kaaba seven times, and pray two raka’hs behind Maqam Ibrahim.

Performing this Tawaf is obligatory. If a pilgrim does not perform it, they must offer a sacrifice. If a woman menstruates, she does not have to perform Tawaf Al-Wadaa.

Related Topics:

Days of Tashreeq

Day of Eid

Day of Arafat

Hajj Guide: Day of Tarwiyah

Arrival Tawaf

What to Do before Arriving in Makkah?

Short link :

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button