Arts & CultureTravel

Hajj Guide: Day of Arafat

  1. Hajj is one of the five pillars of Islam. It is obligatory for all able-bodied Muslims who can afford it, at least once in their lifetime.

Hajj is a spiritual experience for Muslims, which involves undertaking a set of rituals performed by Prophet Mohammed PBUH centuries ago. It takes place during the first ten days of Dhu’al-Hijjah, the final month of the Islamic calendar.

Hajj lasts four to six days depending on the pilgrim’s speed. This year, Saudi Arabia announced that the first day of Eid Al Adha corresponds to June 16, 2024. This means that Hajj rituals will start on June 14.

In this regard, Leaders MENA Magazine offers a detailed guide to Hajj rituals day by day. The fourth and fifth steps are performed on the Day of Arafat.

Step 4: Day of Arafat

It is the second day of Hajj. At the sunrise of the 9th day of Dhu’al-Hijjah, pilgrims head for Arafat. They pray Dhuhr and Asr in ‘Qasr’ form. After that, pilgrims proceed to Jabal Al Rahma at Arafat, where they stay until sunset.

This act is called Wuquf. Pilgrims devote themselves to Allah. They read Quran, recite Talbiyah and pray a lot for themselves and all Muslims.

Hajj Guide: Day of Arafat
Day of Arafat

Step 5: Muzdalifah

After the sunset of the 9th day of Dhu’al-Hijjah, pilgrims leave for Muzdalifah (a town between Mina and Arafat). On their arrival, they should combine Maghrib and Isha prayers, shortening Isha to two rak’ahs.

Then, pilgrims collect 49 pebbles of the same size to perform “Rami” (symbolic stoning of the devil) over the next three days. They should prepare 7 pebbles for the next day’s ritual, Jamrat Al-Aqabah.

After that, they rest in Muzdalifah until the dawn of the next day and perform Fajr prayers before leaving.

Related Topics:

Day of Tarwiyah

Arrival Tawaf

What to Do before Arriving in Makkah?

Short link :

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button