Arts & CultureTravel

Hajj Guide: Arrival Tawaf

Hajj is one of the five pillars of Islam. It is obligatory for all able-bodied Muslims who can afford it, at least once in their lifetime.

Hajj is a spiritual experience for Muslims, which involves undertaking a set of rituals performed by Prophet Mohammed PBUH centuries ago. It takes place during the first ten days of Dhu’al-Hijjah, the final month of the Islamic calendar.

Hajj lasts four to six days depending on the pilgrim’s speed. This year, Saudi Arabia announced that the first day of Eid Al Adha corresponds to June 16, 2024. This means that Hajj rituals will start on June 14.

In this regard, Leaders MENA Magazine offers a detailed guide to Hajj rituals day by day. The second step is to perform Arrival Tawaf right after arriving in Makkah.

Step 2: Arrival Tawaf

Upon arrival in Makkah, pilgrims perform Tawaf Al-Qudoum (Arrival Tawaf). Pilgrims circumambulate the Kaaba seven times in an anti-clockwise direction for the arrival Tawaf.

After that, pilgrims pray the two-rak’ahs of Tawaf behind Maqam Ibrahim if possible. They may perform the Sa’y of Hajj first after this Tawaf, and thus they will not have to perform another Sa’y.

During Sa’y, pilgrims walk or run seven times between the Safa and Marwa hills near the Kaaba.

In case of Ifrad and Qiran, pilgrims do not cut any of their hair, but they remain in the state of Ihram until it is time to go to the Mashaer (Holy Sites).

Pilgrims performing Tamattu’ shave or trim their hair and come out of the state of Ihram after Tawaf. When it is time to go to the Mashaer on the night of the eighth day, they assume Ihram to perform Hajj from Makkah.

Related Topics:

Hajj Guide: What to Do before Arriving in Makkah?

How to Avoid Heatstroke during Hajj?

Short link :

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button