Arts & CultureTravel

Hajj Guide: Day of Tarwiyah

Hajj is one of the five pillars of Islam. It is obligatory for all able-bodied Muslims who can afford it, at least once in their lifetime.

Hajj is a spiritual experience for Muslims, which involves undertaking a set of rituals performed by Prophet Mohammed PBUH centuries ago. It takes place during the first ten days of Dhu’al-Hijjah, the final month of the Islamic calendar.

Hajj lasts four to six days depending on the pilgrim’s speed. This year, Saudi Arabia announced that the first day of Eid Al Adha corresponds to June 16, 2024. This means that Hajj rituals will start on June 14.

In this regard, Leaders MENA Magazine offers a detailed guide to Hajj rituals day by day. The third step is heading for Mina on the Day of Tarwiyah and spending the night there.

Step 3: Day of Tarwiyah

Day of Tarwiyah is the first day of Hajj. On the dawn of the 8th day of Dhu’al-Hijjah, pilgrims head for Mina (a town in Makkah).

Pilgrims remain there until the dawn of the ninth day of Dhu’al-Hijjah. They perform Dhuhr, Asr, Maghrib and Isha prayers in “Qasr” form. They also recite Talbiyah throughout the day.

Leaving for Mina and spending the night there on the Day of Tarwiyah is Sunnah and not a duty. Pilgrims may go directly to Arafat on the ninth day.

Related Topics:

Hajj Guide: What to Do before Arriving in Makkah?

Hajj Guide: Arrival Tawaf

Short link :

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button