Arts & Culture

Medina’s mosques: ancient religious and historical value

The Kingdom features several unique tourist attractions and historic mosques, including the mosques of Medina, which are of significant religious and historical importance.

The mosques of Medina

Medina is home to a group of historical mosques, not only the Prophet’s Mosque, PBUH. Know more about them: 

Quba Mosque:

This mosque is considered the first mosque built under Islamism. It witnessed several restorations, starting from the era of Caliph Othman Bin Affan, followed by Al Waleed Bin Abdul Malik, until King Fahd Bin Abdul Aziz. It was expanded in 1405 AH.

Abu Bakr Al-Siddiq Mosque:

This mosque is located on the western side of the Prophet’s Mosque, in the Al-Arida neighbourhood, opposite the Al-Ghamama Mosque and separated by the main road. It was built in 1254 AH.

Al-Qiblatain Mosque:

Al-Qiblatain Mosque is one of the most prominent mosques in Medina, and it received this name because it is the place where the qiblah changed from Jerusalem to the Kaaba.

It has an adjacent garden for children, which makes it suitable for families.

Miqat Mosque:

It is also called Abyar Ali, and it is located on the western side of the Al-Aqiq Valley. It was built during the era of Omar bin Abdul Aziz and has increased in size several times.

Al-Ghamama Mosque:

Al-Ghamama Mosque is where the Prophet prayed for rain, and the reason for its name is because a cloud had blocked the Prophet’s face during his prayer. The building’s exterior is decorated with black basalt stones.

The seven mosques:

It is a group of small mosques located where the Almoravids settled during the Battle of Al-Ahzab. They are Al-Fath Mosque, Salman Al Farsi Mosque, Abu Bakr Mosque, Mosque of Omar ibn al-Khattab, Mosque of Ali bin Abi Talib, Fatima Mosque, and Al-Qiblatain Mosque.

Short link :

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button