Politics & News

Minister of Islamic Affairs receives the Special Envoy of Australia to the OIC

Minister of Islamic Affairs, Dr. Abdullatif Al-Sheikh, received in his office today the Special Envoy of Australia to the OIC organization of Islamic cooperation, Radwan Jadwat.


He stressed during the meeting that the Kingdom is working to spread the principles of moderation and reject extremism.


He also stressed the need for concerted global efforts to combat terrorism and eliminate its causes.

For his part, Radwan Jadout expressed his aspiration for more cooperation in combating terrorism.


Basically, he asserted spreading a culture of tolerance and dialogue between religions.

Organization of Islamic Cooperation


The Organization of Islamic Cooperation is an international Islamic organization that brings together fifty-seven Islamic countries.


Accordingly, the OIC describes itself as “the collective voice of the Islamic world,” although it does not include all Muslim countries.


it aims to “protect the vital interests of Muslims,” who number about 1.9 billion.

The organization has permanent membership in the United Nations.


The fifty-seven countries are Muslim-majority countries from the Middle East, Africa, Central Asia, Southeast Asia, the Indian subcontinent, and the Balkans (Bosnia and Albania).


A group of Islamic countries established The OIC in Rabat on September 25, 1969.


The first meeting was held between the leaders of Islamic world countries, after the Al-Aqsa fire on August 21, 1969.


At that time, it presented the principles of defending the honor and dignity of Muslims represented in Jerusalem.


The OIC was an attempt to find a common denominator among all groups of Muslims.


The First Islamic Conference of Foreign Ministers was held in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, in 1970.


Short link :

Related Stories

Back to top button